## THE XVII SCHOOL OF DIFFERENTIAL GEOMETRY MANAUS, AMAZONAS, BRAZIL, JULY 11-20, 2012 SECOND ANNOUNCEMENT

The XVII School of Differential Geometry is organized by the Federal University of Amazonas (UFAM) and the National Institute of Pure and Applied <u>Mathematics</u> (<u>IMPA</u>). It will take place in the Tropical Hotel of Manaus, capital of the state of Amazonas, Brazil, from July 11 to July 20, 2012.

The activities include 6 lecture series:

- A. Bobenko: Discrete Riemann Surfaces
- F. Codá Marques: Evolução pela curvatura
- J. Eschenburg: Symmetric Spaces
- W. Meeks: Differential Geometry of Metric Lie Groups
- G. Smith: PDE Techniques in Nonlinear Problems
- A. Clarke & B. Santoro: Holonomy Groups in Riemannian Geometry

There will also be:

- 1. plenary conferences by invited speakers
- 2. conferences chosen among the submitted proposals
- 3. poster sessions.

Registration is done on line at the web site of the School: http://www.impa.br/opencms/pt/eventos/store/evento\_1207

Those interested in presenting their research or presenting a poster should indicate this when registering. Please send the paper you wish to present or the poster, to: xvii.egd@gmail.com

Doctoral students and recent doctoral graduates are particularly encouraged to present their work.

The deadlines to apply for these presentations are: April 13, 2012 (papers) and May 27, 2012 (posters).

The Brazilian School of Geometry is held once every two years in a different Brazilian city. This coming July, the meeting will be in Manaus, a city on the Amazon region, located at the juncture of two rivers, the Rio Negro and the Rio Solimões. We strongly encourage students to participate in the event. We have limited resources for financial support. We recommend the participants to do their best to obtain financing for travel and living expenses from their home institutions. The duration of the school is ten days. During the first four days there will be lecture series mainly oriented towards students and the remaining days there will presentations of recent research.

## Scientific Committee:

Fernando Codá – IMPA Gregório Pacelli Bessa - UFC Harold Rosenberg - IMPA Jaime Ripoll - UFRS Keti Tenenblat - UnB Paolo Piccione - USP Renato de Azevedo Tribuzy - UFAM (Coordenador)

## Organizing Committee:

Cícero Augusto Mota Cavalcante - UFAM Flávia Morgana Jacinto - UFAM Henrique Reffert Filho - UFAM Hilário Alencar - UFAL Inês da Silva Oliveira - UFAM Ivan de Azevedo Tribuzy - UFAM José Kenedy Martins - UFAM José Nazareno Gomes – UFAM Marcílio Freitas - UFAM Walcy Santos - UFRJ